There may be instances when a teacher is using Google Meet in conjunction with Google Classroom where a student may be mistakenly granted the organizer role in the meeting. When this happens, the student has the ability to mute or remove meeting participants (including the teacher).
This is a result of the way Google Meet currently works, the first person to join the meeting becomes the organizer. Issues arise in the cases when a student joins the meeting before the teacher.
Google support has confirmed that this is a known issue, and is working on a proper solution. In the meantime, these steps should be followed before each meeting to ensure that the teacher is always the meeting organizer:
- Go to your Classroom settings by clicking the gear icon in the top right corner.
- Scroll to the Meet section, and make sure the the meeting link is not visible to students:
- Reset your meeting to get a new link:
- Join the meeting yourself, then while you are in the meeting go back and make the link visible to students:
- At the end of the meeting, you may want to hide the meeting link again, so that students will not join the wrong meeting before you are able to create a new one.